General Information

The Formal Epistemology Workshop 2022 will be hosted by the Department of Logic and Philosophy of Science at UC Irvine. We invite paper and poster submissions in formal epistemology broadly construed, including but not limited to probability, decision and game theory, philosophy of science, logic, philosophy of language, social epistemology, as well as
suitable papers that intersect with aligned scientific disciplines, such as economics, statistics, cognitive science, computer science, artificial intelligence research, linguistics, applied mathematics, and others.

We especially encourage submissions from members of underrepresented groups, graduate students and early career scholars, who will all be considered for partial funding. Paper submissions should be no longer than 6,000 words and should be accompanied by an abstract of maximally 200 words. Submissions for the poster session should consist of an extended abstract of no more than 1,000 words. Authors of paper submissions may indicate whether they wish to be considered for the poster session as well. All submissions should be prepared for anonymous review and will be channeled through the EasyChair submission system.

Important Dates
Submission Deadline: January 30, 2022
Notifications: March 20, 2022

Registration Deadline: May 18, 2022
Conference: May 27–29, 2022

SBSG 1517

In order to register for the conference, please us this link:

Hotel rooms have been set aside at a discounted rate of $169.00 per night. Please visit, set the destination as Orange County, and set the hotel as Ayres Hotel Costa Mesa/Newport Beach. To book online, visit The promo code for bookings over the phone is 14510. If you have any problems with the code, please call 800-322-9992 and ask for the UCI Social Sciences rate. Please note: Reservations must be made by May 5, 2022 to receive group rate and availability. For an alternate list of hotels, please visit

Local Organizers
Simon Huttegger
Cailin O’Connor

FEW Organizers
Ray Briggs
Kenny Easwaran
Julia Staffel
Mike Titelbaum

Program Committee

Brad Armendt, Arizona State University
Sara Aronowitz, Princeton University
Richard Bradley, London School of Economics
Liam Bright, London School of Economics
Lara Buchak, Princeton
Catrin Campbell-Moore, University of Bristol
Kevin Dorst, University of Pittsburgh
Adam Elga, Princeton University
Melissa Fusco, Columbia University
Daniel Herrmann, UC Irvine
Wesley Holliday, UC Berkeley
Sophie Horowitz, UMass Amherst
Thomas Icard, Stanford
James Joyce, University of Michigan
Jason Konek, University of Bristol
Harvey Lederman, Princeton University
Ben Levinstein, University of Illinois
Hanti Lin, UC Davis
Conor Mayo-Wilson, University of Washington
Eric Pacuit, University of Maryland
Richard Pettigrew, University of Bristol
Felipe Romero, University of Groningen
Teddy Seidenfeld, Carnegie Mellon University
Paolo Santorio, University of Maryland
Brian Skyrms, UC Irvine
Katie Steele, Australian National University
Johanna Thoma, London School of Economics
Sylvia Wenmackers, KU Leuven
Francesca Zaffora Blando, Stanford University
Kevin Zollman, Carnegie Mellon University